I’m Lucky I Came Up For Air When I Did!

So there I was, keeping my head under the social media radar for the last few weeks, focusing solely on my manuscript, Souled, when what do I find waiting for me when I come up for air?  My WANA sista, Angela Orlowski-Peart, awarded me the Lucky 7 Meme!  Just the thing I needed to lighten up the mood around here.

I’ve always loved Angela’s blog because her topics are diverse, light-hearted, and always fascinating.  I’m positive you’ll love the way her personality shines through each word she puts to page.

So here are the rules to the Lucky 7 Meme:

1.  Go to page 77 of your current MS/WIP
2.  Go to line 7.
3.  Copy down the next 7 lines, sentences, or paragraphs, and post them
as they’re written.
4.  Tag 7 authors.
5.  Let them know.

Simple enough.  I decided to go with the seven-ish paragraphs.   So, here is a look at part of my soon-to-be-released manuscript, Souled:

~ ~ ~

Silence yourself.  Feel, rather than think.

I tried for a couple minutes.  I really did.  In fact, my focus was so intense that I think I’d developed a permanent crease between my brows.  The battering kept up, pelting me with shots of emotion, but finally walls began building up around my mind, blocking out one emotion after another, until there was only one feeling left – elation.  I dropped my hands to my sides and my eyes slowly opened, expectant.  Then my gaze tore through the crowd like a predator sensing its prey.  The source was close.  Very close.

Ah, there it was behind me.  At a cash register stood a boy, 12 years old maybe, his face dominated by a toothy smile.  On the other side of the counter, a clerk slapped a receipt onto a brand new Xbox.

The boy’s scrawny arms wrapped around the box and pulled it off the counter.  He sprinted, the box crowding his arms, and headed straight towards me, his mother trailing behind.  I ignored the woman and instead focused on the boy.

My energy tapped into his and sucked it in like a vacuum.  To me, it felt wondrous and exciting; he didn’t feel the same way.  He looked as though he’d smacked into a wall.  He froze, his eyes latched onto mine, his mouth dropped open, and for a moment his head cocked to one side as if he were reading something he didn’t quite understand.

I smiled.

The boy forced his eyes shut, for a minute covering them with his arm as if the darkness alone wasn’t enoughThen grabbing his mother’s sleeve, still struggling with the box, he ran in the opposite direction.

Ha!  That was freakin’ awesome.

~ ~ ~

There you have it.  Look for the release of Souled this spring!

Who’s next on the list to give us a sneak peak at their upcoming work of art?  I hope you take a moment to check out their blogs as well!

1.  Krystal Wade

2.  Dorothy F. Shaw

3.  Karen McFarland

4.  Johanna Pitcairn

5.  Marion Spicher

6.  Naomi Bulger

7.  Barbara McDowell  

About Diana Murdock

California-grown, writer of contemporary and YA paranormal with enough energy to write, raise two boys, run, and dream.

Posted on March 21, 2012, in Awards, Blogging, Cyber Friendship, Paranormal, Social Media, soul attachment, Souled, spiritual attachment, Uncategorized, Writing, YA Novels, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Congratulations on the award and thanks for sharing some of Souled! I’m already hooked and looking forward to the release.

  2. Good fun! I like to use these as prompts to go into my WIP and make sure that a randomly selected bit is interesting. If I’ve written 7 consecutive sentences that don’t contain a hook to make the reader want to keep reading, I need to rewrite.

    So congratulations on your award, and thanks for sharing. And I’m glad I don’t have to rewrite… this time. 🙂

    • Hey Diane! I hear what you are saying! I took a hard look at this and saw I needed a few changes. It will probably still be polished a bit more. It’ll never end, will it?

  3. Awesome! Thank you and congratulations!

  4. And I’d love to share those 7 lines, but if I did, A LOT of spoilers would be given away. So…can’t share! 🙂

  5. Oh that’s so cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My product is still at the initial editing stage. But I can give you a few sneak peeks nonetheless!!! Thank you Diana!! *hugs*

  6. My beautiful WANA sis, I am so proud of you – the second brilliant novel! I can’t wait to read the whole thing. We will have to celebrate the release, right?

  7. That is a fun way to do one of these award things!

  8. Congrats, Diana! You do look good with a pair of wings. You next book sounds like it will be as great as your first!

    I know what it’s like when your muse has you by the throat and won’t let you up. It’s great! Have fun!

  9. What’s this? The writer has stepped out of her writer’s cave? *grins*
    How are you doing, D.? I’ve missed hearing from you. Glad to see that life is treating you well. Sounds like it, anyway. I’m very curious to see what you’ve got up your writer’s sleeve with this WIP. Take care, okay?

    -Jimmy

    • The light hurts my eyes, Jimmy. Probably headed back into the cave soon. The boys will be visiting their dad for ten days in a week, so that is going to be my biggest push time. It’s been a long year, but it’ll be worth it.

  10. Awesome! Thanks for sharing, I can’t wait until release. Which is…..??

  11. Fabulous! I am so excited to get this in print and now you’ve made me more excited!! I’m glad you came up for air and shared this with us. Awesome, Diana.

  1. Pingback: Going Once, Going Twice…SOULED!!! « Diana Murdock, Author

Leave a Reply

