Digging The Skeletons Out Of The Closet

My mind is still abuzz with the editing and book cover design for my soon-to-be-released YA paranormal (the book cover, by the way, is being created by Crystalyn Abercrombie, natural-born artist and expert inker, who should be known the world over – OMG, OMG, OMG – it is fabulous!!!), so for today’s post, I decided to clean out the mental closet – a nice break from the routine.

Following in the footsteps of my fellow bloggers, August McLaughlin, Amber West, Tim O’Brien, Natalie Hartford, and Tameri Etherton, each who have done posts similar to this, I thought it would be fun to do a little Q & A session with you all, at Tameri’s urging, to see if you knew how much of a Goody-Goody I was/am (or not).

Here’s how this works:  I’ll list some things that I may or may not have done.  Your challenge is to let me know in the comments section which items you think are true or false.  In a couple of days, I’ll give you the answers.

This should be interesting.  I wonder what impression you have of me, given the previous soul-revealing posts I’ve written.

So, let’s get started:

1.         In high school, I was a forgery expert.

2.         In the 1980s I made Tijuana runs and snuck bottles of Everclear grain alcohol back across the border.

3.         I helped organize a relief effort for Hurricane Katrina survivors in 2005.

4.         I snuck backstage at a UFO concert back in the 1980s.

5.         In college I cut my hair within inches of my scalp as a dare from my sorority sisters.

6.         I slept in the gutter outside of my college dorm after a particularly wild night.

7.         While working in the Security Department in college, I was a model employee.

8.         I stole a moped.

9.         I used to make cookies and distribute them to residents in retirement homes.

10.       My college roommates and I had were very thrifty and furnished our apartment with stolen furniture.

"Did she or didn't she?" Photo: prevention.com

There you have it.  How well do you think you know me?  Educated guesses and stabs in the dark are totally allowed.

About Diana Murdock

California-grown, writer of contemporary and YA paranormal with enough energy to write, raise two boys, run, and dream.

Posted on January 11, 2012, in Blogging, Human, Labels, Personal, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Oh my gosh!! I can’t wait to see your big reveal! I’m terrible at guessing, though…

  2. How fun! Like Myndi, I’m terrible at guessing and I can’t wait for the reveal.

  3. My guess is that after being a goody goody for your younger years, you turned rebel.
    1. Yes, 2. No, 3. yes (just in your nature), 4. totally!, 5. Hell no, you’ve always had long beautiful hair, 6. no,(I see you at least dragging your butt inside) 7. wanna say yes, but thinking rebel again- no, 8. no, 9. no way, thought you sucked at cooking/baking, 10. I could see that. yes.

    Will be interesting to see how I did. Lost tough during your college years, so going on instinct. 😉

  4. #2 is far too detailed to not be true, and as a result, I’m guessing that #7 is all a bit of phooey 🙂

  5. I’m so glad you’re playing! I’m a terrible influence, I know.

    Let’s see…
    1. Yep, you had your mother’s signature down so well she had you sign checks for the bank.
    2. Um, duh. Yep, as did we all. That’s the reward for living so close to the border.
    3. Of course! You wanted to save all the stray pets as well as help the people.
    4. If you did, I’m embarrassed for you.
    5. You were going to do it anyway, the dare was just a good excuse. And you totally rocked the spiky short haircut.
    6. It wasn’t the gutter, it was on the porch of a nearby fraternity house.
    7. You modeled in college, but not for the Security Department.
    8. Heck yes! And I want it back, by the way.
    9. Of course you did. You needed some good karma to counteract the negative of buying alcohol and stealing my moped.
    10. Um, did you use my stolen moped as a couch? I think you totally did swipe some furniture, but a few items were donated by cute boys who wanted a chance to spend some quality time with you girls.

    That was fun! I can’t wait to see how right or wrong I am.

  6. Hey, sis! I’m so glad you decided to write the Goody Goody post. These facts are awesome. I’m next 🙂

    I will try my best at guessing but this is tricky!
    1, 2, 3, and 4 YES
    5, 6, and 7 NO, although I’m torn between saying yes or no on number 6.
    8 heck yes!
    9 and 10 – I really don’t think so but I might be for a big surprise.

    There you have it. I can’t wait for you to reveal the answers.

  7. So fun! I’m thinking:

    1,2,and 3 are yep, yep, and yep.

    4 – what were you? 8 or 9 in the 80’s? What in the world is UFO? I’d say no.

    5 – I’m on the fence. Don’t strike me as sorority sue but. . . nah.

    7, 8, 9, and 10 – yep, yep, yep, and yep.

    Those are my guesses. Looking forward to the reveal. 🙂

  8. Wait, just re-read #2. 1980’s??? The timeline seems wrong, but the deed seems do-able. Hmmm. . . now that’s a difficult one. I’m going to stick with my yes, even though it completely contradicts the logic of my choice for #4. LOL.

  9. Great list. My guess would be yes to all but #6 and #10. UFO was one of my favorite bands back in high school in the late 70’s. Can’t wait to see the big reveal!

  10. LOVE it and thank you for the FAHHHHB shout out!!!
    1. With your drawing talent, I’m guessing yes.
    2. Nope – can’t see this.
    3. Absolutely!!! YES!!!
    4. Yes, and likely got a signature in an unmentionable spot! LOL!
    5. Yes – totally up your alley!
    6. No….someone would have carried you upstairs!
    7. Yes
    8. Hmmmm….yes…hehehehhee
    9. Hmmm….tough one but I am going with yes again…LOL!
    10. This I just can’t see – moped yes but not all your furniture.

    GREAT list…eekeee…can’t wait for answers!!!

  11. Yay! Welcome to the naughty/nice club, Diana. From your list, I see you’re a prime fit! 😉

    My guesses:
    1. Yes (And I wish we were classmates)
    2. Yes (Thank god you’re still alive!)
    3. Yes. Thank you. 🙂 (You’re still fab if you didn’t.)
    4. Yeppers! Love it.
    5. Hmm… I’ve seen sorority sisters on Lifetime movies. Definitely. Cruel!
    6. Aw… Yes. (And hope you had a blankie.)
    7. But of course!
    8. Hmm… No.
    9. Doubt you’d make that sweetness up!
    10. Yes, to the first half, no to the second.

    How’d I do??? Can’t wait for the reveal.

  12. I love this! You are way braver then I am. I just don’t think I could do it.
    I can’t wait for the reveal!

  13. Hi Diana,
    This post made m,e laugh. 🙂 I’m saying Yes to all. Esp. #6 — who hasn’t done that? No need to make your bed in the morning and an ideal location if barf is involved. Best part: you lived to tell that tale.
    BTW, being a Goody-Goody is over-rated. Conforming/avoiding risks does not fuel the imagination. So let your firey side blaze and write on!

  14. I only know you through this blog and that too for few weeks so my responses will be wild guesses …

    1. In high school, I was a forgery expert.
    –> I can see that, it needs creativity and you have that in abundance.

    2. In the 1980s I made Tijuana runs and snuck bottles of Everclear grain alcohol back across the border.
    –> If you were to do this, you’d been in a different career or a “kingdom” by now.

    3. I helped organize a relief effort for Hurricane Katrina survivors in 2005.
    –> Possibly, I can see you touched by an angel

    4. I snuck backstage at a UFO concert back in the 1980s.
    –> Yeah that’s quit possible during your crazy years.

    5. In college I cut my hair within inches of my scalp as a dare from my sorority sisters.
    –> The way you flaunt your hair in profile picture, it shows your love for it. No way would you do this. You’d rather double dare it back.

    6. I slept in the gutter outside of my college dorm after a particularly wild night.
    –> Fell would be convincing but beyond that can’t imagine

    7. While working in the Security Department in college, I was a model employee.
    –> With your other traits listed here why not.

    8. I stole a moped.
    –> If ever driven to steal you’d go for something bigger not just a moped. I can believe it as a prank but no way for real.

    9. I used to make cookies and distribute them to residents in retirement homes.
    –> You making them is hard to believe, you may help distribute them

    10. My college roommates and I had were very thrifty and furnished our apartment with stolen furniture.
    –> Totally see that as a team activity during college days.

  15. Haha, can’t wait to see the answers!

    I’m guessing #10 is true, and that “stolen furniture” really means dumpster diving for furniture. Darn, I’m blanking on what they called it in that Castle episode, lol.

  16. This like a what do my friends think of me series of questions. Just remember– what’s behind is not important to a good friend– unless it’s a very big butt, lol.

    I say yes to 1,3,4,6,8,9,and 10. I hope someone has a pic of you lying in that gutter. It’s not so bad except for the crick I got in my neck.

  17. I’m going to say NO on #2 and #5 – and YES on the rest. Like me, I think you toned down the real dirt! LOL Too funny!

  18. I could only ever think of you in Angelic terms, so you have done no bad things in your life… I will be peeking through splayed fingers during the reveal, however. 🙂

    -Jimmy

    P.S.: Just in case, you may wish to double-check the statute of limitations on some of those bad things. *grins*

  19. Oh my gosh! What fun this was to read! Can’t wait to see the truth!

    1. Definitely yes!
    2. No
    3. I’m thinking no, because you are too busy!
    4. Definitely yes!
    5. No. I would like to imagine that you are too cool for a sorority. (Non conformist like me) Plus, you’ve always had long hair!
    6. No. well…maybe!
    7. No. You were a model/super star. not security.
    8. Hmmmm….maybe.
    9. Ah…no.
    10. Yes.

    xoxo

  20. Okay, I’m going it! LOL It’s funny, I have my naughty or nice post ready for tomorrow. We must be on the same wave length. 😉 So here is my guess:
    1. Totally! Who didn’t?
    2. Definitely. What Tameri said.
    3. Yes. I can clearly see you doing this.
    4. UFO? Hmm, Yeppers. And you went crazy at that concert.
    5. No. Not all the way buzz
    6. No. Not truly in the gutter
    7. No. Model employee maybe, but not in the Security Department.
    8. Stole a moped. You’re mincing words. Yes and no. You borrowed without permission.
    9. Yes!
    10. Again, you’re playing on the words. You got your furniture from things left at the curbside, or as Angela likes to put it – dumpster diving.

  21. I’m sitting with the others in your cheering section waiting for the big reveal. Whatever it is will just make us love you more!

  22. Heh, heh. Oh, I could so see you doing all of these, Diana. Bwahaha. Here are my guesses:

    1. Yes, and what an excellent skill to have at that age.

    2. Yep. Mexico was way safer on the border towns back then versus now.

    3. Yes, goes to your caring spirit.

    4. Toss up here. I’ll lean towards yes.

    5. No, would have hurt modeling.

    6. No, can’t see your friends/roomates leaving you out like that.

    7. I think this is a play off the word model, so yes and no.

    8. No.

    9. Yes, just like number 3.

    10. No, because I agree with others that you leveraged stuff you found left behind, but didn’t steal it..

Leave a Reply

