The End Is Only The Beginning

The End was penned a couple of months ago, but those two words only signaled the beginning.  After 14 months of writing, the words that had been pouring out of my imagination had finally solidified into the 70,000+ manuscript that is now going through the fluff and fold and nip and tuck process.

For me, editing this YA Paranormal has been all-consuming, taking up enough space in my brain to push a few things out.  As input from my betas keep coming in, my mind is continuously working out the possibilities and changes my novel could take.  I’ve forgotten to pay bills on time, left the market with only half of what I’ve gone in for, and lost a lot of time from work because I’m running through scenes in my head instead of typing medical reports.  I get through my days only half there and it’s a struggle to bring myself to the moment and focus on the task at hand.

I’ve got the attention span of blade of grass and if a point is not made within five seconds from the beginning of a conversation or whatever it is that I’m reading, you can be pretty sure I’ve checked out and moved on to something else.  Oftentimes I wake up that way, breathing in the adrenaline of the home stretch.

With my tattoo artist now sketching out the cover of the novel – which, by the way, will be one of the next images of art to be inked on my body – the actual completion of my second novel is quickly becoming a reality…and I can’t wait!

So forgive me as I deviate from my usual blog path, because quite honestly, I can’t think of much else.  You may not see me much in the blogosphere or in Twitterverse in the next few weeks, but I’ll be around – sort of.

About Diana Murdock

California-grown, writer of contemporary and YA paranormal with enough energy to write, raise two boys, run, and dream.

Posted on December 28, 2011, in Blogging, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Congratulations on typing “The End.” I love the way you describe revision: “the fluff and fold and nip and tuck process.” Good luck with all of it.

  2. I can relate. I wish there was a way to allow creativity without it taking a toll on daily responsibilities like getting to the gym or doing chores. The focused attention that we give to a creative project can be a blessing and a curse at the same time. Thank goodness for these blessed curses.

  3. Hmmm….reminds me of going into labor, the happy part is bringing home the baby!!!
    Sending good energy! Love you Little Sis!

  4. I forgive you…. just get the damn book out!

    Love,
    M

  5. Good for you! The End is such a fabulous thing to type and now that you’ve got it in revisions, it will only be more fun. Enjoy your time with your book and we’ll see you when you’re hopping in and out of the blogosphere. I’m sure the rest of us can totally relate.

    Hugs and support to you, always!

  6. Oh man I know what it’s like, I’m in the (painful) process of editing my book too.

    And kudos for using your tattoo artist to draw the cover of your book, I’ll do exactly the same!! Once it’s ready, obviously.

    K, time to edit. Hugs and can’t wait!

  7. Three cheers, Diana! Take it easy, enjoy the process and remember … one breath at a time. We’ll be watching and waiting and wishing you good luck.

  8. Congratulations. The end is just the start of a new journey.

  9. It’s the beginning….!!!!

  10. It is the BEGINNING…. !!!

  11. What a perfect statement: The End is only the bginning!

    I am excited for you, Diana! I think my wife told me once that I have the attention span of a butterfly– about 3 seconds– when I’m writing. It shoots up to ten seconds when I’m not, lol.

    It’s the editing that will turn a good book into a great book so take your time and enjoy.

    If you need another Beta just let me know but remember– I’m truthful but in your case I don’t think that is a worry!

    I wish you great success and happiness in the coming year in all you do!

  12. Wow, some body art based on your book cover. I am jealous! Congrats on the near-completion of your novel.

  13. Since your attention span is so small right now…
    Congrats & much success to you…
    Wish you’d quit inking yourself, but love your gumption…
    Take all the time you need, but be back by March. I want a Happy Birthday wish from you on the 22nd. 🙂
    Wish you and yours a very Happy New Year, Diana.
    *hugs*

    -Jimmy

  14. Way to go Diana. Sounds like all the signs and symptoms of a gifted, inspired writer!

  15. Woohoo! Congratulations – I’m excited for you! 🙂

  16. OMG, sista! I’m so proud of you. This is a major milestone. I can’t wait to read the final version. I keep telling myself that I have to employ your strategy to finish my novel.Less social media and more writing – that’s my number one goal now 🙂

    Luv ya! Huge bear hugs!

  17. Woot woot Diana – we are all soooo proud of you!!! Here’s to taking some time and focusing on your priority – I love it!! We will all be here waiting for your return and we are cheering you on. Sending you tons of hugs and support!!!

  18. Awesome. What a wonderful reason to be scattered. Happy, happy 2012.

  19. Wow, I’m telling you we’re the same person. I’ve been consumed by my books so many times, bills are only an after thought. Good luck! 🙂

  20. I am so excited for you! I can’t wait till the next stage of this journey begins!

Leave a Reply

