Sweet Dreams…

Photo credit: josephinewall.co.uk

I haven’t had a dream for a long time.  I’m not talking about this-is-where-I’m-going-with-my-life kind of dream.  I’m talking about the nocturnal type when our subconscious mind sifts through our thoughts and tries to sort them out.

I was told by a psychic friend of mine a few months ago that I wasn’t dreaming now because I block it.   Why would anyone purposely block dreaming? Dreaming is cool.   Those typically nonsensical images and events are the window to the subconscious mind.  Personally, I want to know how the other half of my mind works.

Well, because dreaming can be so exhausting (just ask anyone who spent the night flapping their arms, flying over city lights all night long or running away from anything), apparently my subconscious shuts me down so I could get much-needed rest.   I have a tendency to take a blow torch to both ends of my candle, so I guess my subconscious knows what my ego doesn’t.

I envy my son.  He goes for a wild ride almost nightly and I get to live vicariously through him.  He has some wild dreams – being the hero that saves the neighborhood during zombie invasions mostly, but many times he has lucid dreams – dreams when he knows he is dreaming and is able to manipulate everything around him within the dream.  Just the other night he dreamed he was standing in a dried-up river bed.  Realizing he was dreaming, he thought how cool it would be to have the bed fill up and, as Captain Jean-Luc Picard of the U.S.S. Enterprise would say, “Make it so,” and he did.  He watched as water came up from between the rocks and dirt and swirled around his ankles before running the course of the river bed.

Photo credit: lucid-dream-guide.blogspot.com

I’ve always wanted to do that – have a lucid dream.  Apparently this type of dreaming is more common than I had thought.  I’ve spoken with a lot of people who shape their dreams into what they chose them to be.

So, until I get my hall pass to dreamland again, I’ll just have to live through someone else’s experience.  So what about you?  What are your dreams like?  Do you dream fantastical Hollywood-style dreams, easy-to-interpret dreams, or do you lucid dream?  What about recurring dreams?  Do you try to interpret them?  I’d really like to know!

About Diana Murdock

California-grown, writer of contemporary and YA paranormal with enough energy to write, raise two boys, run, and dream.

Posted on September 13, 2011, in Dreaming, Human and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I rarely remember my dreams. When I do, they are either incredibly mundane and boring — or totally weird. I’ve had one or two lucid dreams in my life. It would be so cool to be like your son and be able to impose one’s will on a dream. Wow.

  2. Interesting post. I’ve always dreamed in color and I almost always remember my dreams in detail, which is pretty cool. Thanks!

  3. Josephine Wall is one of my favorite artists. 🙂

    I’ve had vivid dreams for as long as I can remember. They were a way for me to gain control over something when I felt my life was out of my control. I remember when I was young all my dreams took place in the backyard, and I was trapped by this huge wall and power lines that would knock me back down if I tried to explore outside them. Jeez, it was such a battle every night, pushing farther and farther, gradually making progress until I broke the restraints and gained this sense of freedom. After that, I had more control of my dreams. I could breathe underwater, walk through walls, fly. Lol, when I know it’s a dream and there’s food nearby, I go for the donuts. (I’m gluten-intolerant.) In my dream, I can still remember how they taste.

    The downside to this mastery of the dreamworld is insomnia. I don’t get to stage 5 of deep sleep anymore because I’m always dreaming. Sometimes I even get restless; I roam around the dream wanting to do something fun, but having trouble making it happen. Now I’m having to battle willing myself not to dream and just rest.

  4. I’ve had lucid dreams and dreams that come true. I had a great dream the other night and still remember it today. I have had dreams where I fly, go to help people and fly away to get help for them that I can not do myself. Some of my dreams I view from above the event happening. One I had wherein I woke up in a panic because I felt it was true through and through. I wanted to tell someone about it, but thought they would think I was crazy, so let it go. About 6 months after the dream, it happened. I have also had reoccurring dreams that were scary for years. Those, thank God, have stopped. Whew. I often wonder if that’s a dream of another life I had. I’ve even gone to sleep with the intention of getting answers to my waking life and sure enough, there were the answers. I’ve had visitations from those who have passed while I was in a dream state. That was so comforting. I knew they were okay, because the dream was so real and their personality was just as good as when they were here.

    Great topic Diana!! I love it.

  5. It’s so interesting to hear the how there is no end to the type of dreams people have. To each his own! I dream regularly but seldom remember them. I do know that most of my dreams involve humorous situations because I’m told I often laugh in my sleep. That makes me feel a bit weird … but happy!

  6. Love the art you posted…. I’ve had some incredibly vivid dreams; unfortunately, the ones I tend to remember are bad… really, really bad. I had a recurring nightmare as a child (and i had a wonderful childhood, so this makes no sense) that invariably woke me up screaming. I love analyzing dreams. Some are totally random, I’m sure, but others are deeply significant. Fascinating stuff.

  7. Hi, Diana. I think somewhere in the middle would be great: to dream a little, but still get good rest. I have had some nights recently where I dreamt the night away and felt “pooped” in the morning. *laughs*
    I don’t have lucid dreams, nor have I quite answered the question of whether the dreams are in black and white or color. I would guess color, but I’m never sure the next morning.
    I have also had recurring dreams, but they only show themselves every few years or so. Weird!

    Thanks for asking.

    -Jimmy

  8. I’d love to have a lucid dream, but the closest I’ve ever come is to get partway through a recurring dream and think, “This is the same stupid dream. I’m waking up now.” And I did wake up.

    For the past few years, I’ve been conducting an informal survey: whenever a conversation turns to dreaming, I ask people if they dream in colour or black and white. My method is ridiculously unscientific, but it seems as though people like engineers and mathematicians tend to dream in black and white more frequently than those in more “artistic” fields.

    Anybody else have a generalization on the topic of colour?

  9. Ooooh man, I dream a LOT. It’s a mixture of complete nonsense dreams and highly detailed, movie-esque dreams that feel significant and can usually be interpreted. I don’t lucid dream. I DO dream in color, usually, and sometimes I experience other sensations like smell or taste or touch really vividly as well. I try to remember them and sometimes write them down, too.

    If you miss dreaming, maybe you could try some journeying with a stone or an image. Often my experiences with this process are very dream-like, but I remember them better and usually understand their purpose right away. (There are exceptions. Sometimes I have no idea why I saw what I saw. But USUALLY I get it.)

  10. I go in phases with dreams. Sometimes they are disturbing and full of violent and destructive images that aren’t connected to each other. Other times I have only a sense of what happened. At still other times the symbolism will be so blatant that I have to laugh. My oldest kid is on a veritable cocktail of mind meds as they try to find the right ones for her, and she nightly has dreams that would do Salvador Dali proud. They are out there.

Leave a Reply

