Owl and Plank – Idaho Style

Theresa, of Give Me A Latte With My Valium, and Diana striking an Owl and Plank pose on a revolver barbecue.

Planking, the act of lying face down on or across ordinary objects with hands touching the sides of the body, has been around since 2000, and maybe longer.  The rules of the game are simple:  Find an object to get horizontal on, document your position with a picture, and slap it on the internet for all to see.

Since its inception, doing the plank and owl (a variant of the plank in which a person squats like an owl) has been growing in popularity all over the world.

Why?  Because it’s different, a little bit crazy, and a surprisingly  fun, even if it is for just a few minutes.  Planking and owling, for the most part legal and harmless, give people the chance to go against the norm, be a little bit defiant, and a whole lot spontaneous.  There are some objects that are planking and owling no-no’s, like the top of a police car, for example, but apart from that, nothing is sacred to planking – signs, stairs, horses, boats, or in our case, a barbecue in the shape of a revolver.

But it’s not for everyone, because it definitely attracts attention.  My son hid behind the building when our picture was taken because, “Mom!  Everyone’s gonna see!”

Yeah?  Well now everyone in our town will get to see the owl and plank in action.  I had no idea that lying prone on a revolver barbecue with my friend mimicking an owl on the hammer – on the corner of a busy street, no less – would be such a hoot!  (Pun intended.)  Yeah, exhibitionists at heart.

Anyone can do it, but the group that impresses me the most are the women of Moms Who Owl and Plank.  With everything these women have to do during their long days and short nights, they never lose sight of cutting loose and having fun.

Governor Plank, courtesy of Moms Who Owl And Plank

Horse Delux Plank, courtesy of Moms Who Owl And Plank

Vending Owl, courtesy of Moms Who Owl And Plank

So what are you waiting for?  The weekend is almost here.  Grab your camera or phone, find the most unique place to plank or owl, and submit your picture to any of the planking sites on Facebook or YouTube it!

Have you ever tried to plank?  How about the owl?  What do you think about it?  Fad or here to stay?  Leave me a comment, because I’d love to know!

About Diana Murdock

California-grown, writer of contemporary and YA paranormal with enough energy to write, raise two boys, run, and dream.

Posted on August 12, 2011, in Planking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. ROFL. You are the Orson Welles of the new century. Great post. Can’t wait for the pics

  2. Clearly, I’ve been living under a rock. I’d never heard of planking until just a few weeks ago, and this is the first time I’ve ever heard of owling. Maybe we Canadians are just behind the curve up here.

    Your pictures made me laugh – loved the barbeque! Now I need to get my friends and my camera and go play. 🙂

  3. Loved the video! I’d never heard of planking or owling until I read this post. Very unique and great for a few laughs. Don’t know if I’d be up to this now, but when I was a teenager most definitely!

  4. Diane, I’m with you back there behind the times. Just heard of planking last week and owling? That’s a new one.

    Kind of makes me want to get out and let loose my inner planker!

    That’s the craziest bbq I’ve ever seen – do they really cook on it?

  5. Hahaha, I LOVE this. So hilariously awesome!

  6. D, This is hysterical… and I’ll bet money no one else has ever Owl and Planked on a gun-shaped BBQ. I think it might be an “only in Idaho” kind of thing. So, I think you and i need to Owl and Plank on/hear the City Beach statue of liberty… Whatcha think?

  7. My grandchildren told me about planking. Does that mean I’m getting old?

  8. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos

    Great post! And awesome that you did that. We have photos of my daughter’s friends planking, they are so much fun and so silly, which is the whole point.

  9. I had no idea what owl and planking was until I read your post. I must try this with my friends. Looks like a blast.

  10. I’ve never even heard of this but yet…think I may have seen people doing owls and planks and been clueless. Hilarious.

  11. This is so funny. I have a couple of big boulders in my yard hmmm… I’ll let you know.
    Great blog Diana!

  12. I’ve heard of planking, but not owling. Oh yeah, I’ve got to try out some of these while the weather is still nice.

  13. Just recently heard of planking and now, thanks to you, learned of the owl. What a hoot! I can’t wait to try it out!!! Tks for the inspiration!

  14. Okay….I had to come back and say I love that this picture is in front of a gun store. That just cracks me up and I don’t even know why.

  15. This is unrelated to anything, but I’ve given you an award! I hope you will THANK me rather than cursing me, but if you curse me I will understand. 🙂

    http://wp.me/p2D2M-Le

Leave a Reply

