Indulge In Bonding – It’s A Primal Need

Finally Friday!  For some that means a few more hours until the start of the weekend, hanging out with friends or sleeping in.  For me, it’s just another day.  Not a big deal.  It’s just that I have this thing about relaxing.

I don’t know how to do it.  I only have two speeds – fast and faster.  Crazy, I know, but a lot of us are like that.   Our strength is immeasurable; our talent for multitasking is, in a word, unbelievable.   This is a gift that is given to all mothers and is a gift that serves us well.

But what if we take all that energy and run with it?  I mean run away with it?  I’ve read a couple of books lately (Nothing Stays in Vegas and The Bridge Club) that just has me screaming ROAD TRIP!

Personally, I’ve set my sights on Italy.

Lazise, Lago di Garda, Italy – Photo by Ian Britton – freefoto.com

I love every single picture I have ever seen of Italy.  I want to experience first hand the food and the culture.  I adore la bella lingua.  Heck, even four-letter words sound seductive in Italian.  (And, I’ll admit, I am a bit curious about the men, but who isn’t?)  I even have a couple of Italian pen pals to help me learn the language.

A trip to Italy would be incredible.  A trip to Italy with my girlfriends would be unbelievable.   So I pick my posse – My cousin Toria, an incredible writer who encouraged me all the way through my first novelKathleen, also a great writer, who is my copy editor for my work in progress.  Aunt Renee, who has my vote of most likely to get us into wicked trouble.  Natascha, my cyber friend who I’ve gotten to know over the last year and just cannot wait to finally meet.

Whether out of the country or just out of town, there’s something about a band of women in unfamiliar surroundings that just brings out the best in us.  Our true, untamed selves spark to life when there is no one looking over our shoulder, no one judging what we do.  Secrets are shared, fears are exposed – and we’d all go to the grave without ever betraying what we know or what we’ve seen.   We play hard, we fight hard, and we love much too easily.  Sure, we can get bitchy sometimes, but that’s part of our charm.  In the end, we’ve got each other’s backs.  This bond of sisterhood has been ingrained in our DNA since the day the caveman discovered fire.

So whether Friday signals an end to your week or the start of another, let’s all feed the need of sisterhood and get in some much-needed girl time.

This goes for you men out there as well.  Not being part of the male gender limits my perspective a bit, but I know the need for male bonding is just as important.

What I want to know is this…how often do you get out with your own posse to do some serious decompressing?  What is the craziest trip you’ve ever taken?  Do you make it a priority in your life?  I’d seriously love to know!

By the way, since my last post, I’ve been fortunate to discover three other Facebook communities of the sisterhood!  The Divine Secrets of a Domestic Diva, Home C.E.O., and Chibi Cow.  Give them a check-out.  It will be well worth your time!!

About Diana Murdock

California-grown, writer of contemporary and YA paranormal with enough energy to write, raise two boys, run, and dream.

Posted on August 5, 2011, in Personal, Relationships, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. i do this 3 times a year. I take weekend getaways to Vegas, San Diego, and Seattle to visit my gal pals. I usually need 3 days to recuperate from these trips… but the bonding is much needed!

  2. Great post, and not just because you pimped my book 😉

    I LOVE girls trips. They’re perfect for the soul.
    In fact…I’m on my way out to pick up my wordbitches and head to the rockies for some words, wine, whitewater and wicked good times!!

    have a fantastic weekend.

  3. Love your post, and it’s all true. Bonding with our women friends IS coded in our DNA from way, way back. I know that after I’ve had a couple of hours talk-and-listen with a good friend (like you!!!), I feel re-empowered, re-engergized and just… re-everything. And here’s to Italy…

  4. Oh yeah! Girlfriend trips are so important! My (real-life) bridge club spent a week together last September on Vancouver Island and no one wanted to go home. We’ve been getting together for 45 years and still laugh way too much when we do. Keep planning that trip to Italy and thanks for giving The Bridge Club a mention. Ciao!

  5. Ah…thanks cousin! I can’t wait until our trip to Italy…someday soon!

    When I was in my 20’s my best friend Cindy called me late on a Friday afternoon and asked me if I wanted to go to Vegas for a turn around trip! How could I say no…it sounded like so much fun! We flew out there around 9pm, took a taxi to the strip and hit as many places as we could. Our red eye flight left back to Phoenix around 4am, but by midnight, we ran out of money and couldn’t afford a taxi! Needless to say, we were very tired and I refused to hitch-hike! So, we walked all the way to the airport…IN HEELS! Ouch! We made the flight with plenty of time. We had such a total blast!

  6. The bonding moments of my youth (clandestine clinches and overnight parties) gave way to the discovery of road trips when we were a bit older, but now they’ve morphed. We feel blessed to squeeze in a stolen evening, a long phone conversation, and the occasional opportunity to all be in the same place (any place) at the same time.

    The craziest road trip I ever took with the girls was predicated by every destination being named after a body part. It is simply astounding how many towns there are scattered around the country that are named for various anatomical parts: Navel, Thumb, Elbow, Ass (true story), Scapula, etc.

    But the absolutely craziest one was my first date with the man who became my husband. It became a five week journey that covered 10,000 miles, twenty states, five Canadian provinces, Memphis on the anniversary of Elvis’ death, and more outrageous things than I possibly list here.

    Good times.

  7. Hey Diana!

    I’m taking a blog trip through everyone’s blogs from #wana711. Your post reminded me that it’s been ten years since I’ve been to Vegas. I used to go twice a year with my best friend. We’d hole up at the Mirage for five days and shop, play craps and video poker, and eat and eat. I remember on one of those trips, we had just left the pool area, and we were in one of the hotel shops trying on clothes…until we realized we were going to miss our flights. I’ve never packed so fast in my life. I jumped into a cab and barely made my flight. My hair was still wet. I smelled like chlorine. But I got some great stuff on sale. 🙂

Leave a Reply

